android
  #1  
Old 02-13-2012, 02:48 AM
Lagoo56's Avatar
Lagoo56 Lagoo56 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SI,NY
Posts: 737
Default Sound setting Stacking

I noticed that its actually possible to combine multiple sound settings together from multiple apps. I stacked Equalizer's sound settings with PowerAMP's sound settings and the result is even better than using just PowerAMP alone

I find this to be great because one equalizer can have some stuff missing and I can use another to fix all the missing stuff.
__________________
DAPs I own: Rockboxed Sansa C250 2GB+64GB MicroSDXC
Tablets I own:Rooted 8GB Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7.0 running Sungsonic 2 HD JB 4.1.2
Rooted 80GB Asus Memopad HD 7

Last edited by Lagoo56; 02-13-2012 at 03:16 AM.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 02-13-2012, 03:15 AM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

How did you manage to do that?
And if that is the same "Equalizer" that I have on my Touch, I will buy it in a heartbeat for the SGP. *runs off to check the Market*
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 02-13-2012, 03:20 AM
Lagoo56's Avatar
Lagoo56 Lagoo56 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SI,NY
Posts: 737
Default

Launch this first:

https://market.android.com/details?i...VxdWFsaXplciJd

Then use one of the music players on top of it that has an equalizer. Both of the settings will fuse together.


I think this works because that app is a global equalizer that applies to the entire device,even for videos. So maybe any global equalizer app will stack with an in-app equalizer like the one that comes with PowerAMP? I'm not sure,but I want to check this out.
__________________
DAPs I own: Rockboxed Sansa C250 2GB+64GB MicroSDXC
Tablets I own:Rooted 8GB Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7.0 running Sungsonic 2 HD JB 4.1.2
Rooted 80GB Asus Memopad HD 7

Last edited by Lagoo56; 02-13-2012 at 03:36 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 02-13-2012, 03:40 AM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

OK, I guess that the Equalizer I know and love from iOS is not on Android anywhere....bummer. That app is the ultimate....just as tweakable as the Rockbox EQ, only it is 7 bands and not 5!

I'm not actually going to do this stacking method...I can get the sound I like either with Rockbox or PowerAmp.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 02-13-2012, 03:48 AM
Lagoo56's Avatar
Lagoo56 Lagoo56 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SI,NY
Posts: 737
Default

I like using both now together. Its interesting to play around with one then go to the other and play around with it to hear what the result will be lol

Now Soundmagic E10's+5.0+Equalizer App+PowerAMP=Utter Bliss!!!!!!


Try it out for yourself if you get curious about the result. I already had the perfect EQ setting in PowerAMP but the Equalizer app made it even better,its like adding extra padding.
__________________
DAPs I own: Rockboxed Sansa C250 2GB+64GB MicroSDXC
Tablets I own:Rooted 8GB Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7.0 running Sungsonic 2 HD JB 4.1.2
Rooted 80GB Asus Memopad HD 7

Last edited by Lagoo56; 02-13-2012 at 04:02 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 02-13-2012, 06:46 AM
mattg3 mattg3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 128
Default

Doesnt doubling up on equalizer cause your songs to skip?
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 02-13-2012, 07:15 AM
Artmuzz's Avatar
Artmuzz Artmuzz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 217
Default

Been there, done that. I've been using Equalizer app alongside PowerAmp and Voodoo sound for quite a few weeks on my Samsung Galaxy S wifi 4.0 and the SQ is very good. I use Equalizer's Virtualizer a lot which gives a wider glossier stereo soundstage and its awesome.
__________________
DAP - Samsung Galaxy WiFi 4.0, Cowon D3, Sony X1060, Sony S639F, Sony A865, iPod 5G (Rockbox), Cowon J3, Sansa Clip+(Rockboxed), Sansa Fuze (Rockboxed), Apple iPod Touch 4G 64GB.

IEM - Sony EX310LP, Panasonic HJE900, JVC FXC80, Sennheiser CX300II
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 02-13-2012, 10:57 AM
Lagoo56's Avatar
Lagoo56 Lagoo56 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SI,NY
Posts: 737
Default

I've tried this a few weeks back with PlayerPro and PowerAMP,but didn't get the result I wanted since one nullified the other's sound settings. So I tried these two together lately and it worked.

And no it doesn't cause my songs to skip at all,they play like normal. I'm just posting this for other users to know that its possible to do this.

Well its good to know that this will work on any Android device though.
__________________
DAPs I own: Rockboxed Sansa C250 2GB+64GB MicroSDXC
Tablets I own:Rooted 8GB Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7.0 running Sungsonic 2 HD JB 4.1.2
Rooted 80GB Asus Memopad HD 7

Last edited by Lagoo56; 02-13-2012 at 11:08 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 02-13-2012, 07:44 PM
mattg3 mattg3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 128
Default

So do you set your equalizer settings for equalizer app first and then go and set poweramp equalizer to same settings?Im a bit confused here.With poweramp I have lowered my treble settings in its equalizer since i hate overbright sound.so now I turn on my equalizer app first.What settings do use here or do i just keep it flat and let my poweramp equalizer take over?Maybe just use the virtualizer setting in eq. app to widen soundstage.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 02-13-2012, 08:11 PM
tcat's Avatar
tcat tcat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 302
Default

I just tried EQ, made my songs skip in Cubed (even with Cubed equalizer off), uninstalled and all is well. Cubed equalizer works fine for me.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 02-13-2012, 08:24 PM
mattg3 mattg3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 128
Default

Mine also skipped in Cubed when i used EQ app.Will give it a try with poweramp tomorrow and the stacking concept which is still vague to me.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 02-13-2012, 08:40 PM
murph murph is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lagoo56 View Post
I think this works because that app is a global equalizer that applies to the entire device,even for videos.
I've seen this statement about this app more than once and it's frankly "inaccurate".

This app does nothing for radio apps be it the native one or one from the market. Haven't tested the speaker output but no change with headphones plugged in
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 02-13-2012, 10:46 PM
Lagoo56's Avatar
Lagoo56 Lagoo56 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SI,NY
Posts: 737
Default

I don't use the FM app much so I didn't test it with that.

PowerAMP doesn't give me the skipping problem,probably only for other music player apps.


It doesn't really matter which app is used first,once both are launched they will work with each other.
__________________
DAPs I own: Rockboxed Sansa C250 2GB+64GB MicroSDXC
Tablets I own:Rooted 8GB Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7.0 running Sungsonic 2 HD JB 4.1.2
Rooted 80GB Asus Memopad HD 7
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 02-14-2012, 09:53 AM
mattg3 mattg3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 128
Default

Just tried stacking with poweramp and equalizer app and its great.Found adding a bit of bass boost and vitualizer gives poweramp sound a nice depth and expansion.Thanks for the tip
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 02-14-2012, 02:04 PM
Lagoo56's Avatar
Lagoo56 Lagoo56 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SI,NY
Posts: 737
Default

You're welcome. I can't listen to music without using both apps together now. The sound is much smoother and clear with both apps working together.
__________________
DAPs I own: Rockboxed Sansa C250 2GB+64GB MicroSDXC
Tablets I own:Rooted 8GB Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7.0 running Sungsonic 2 HD JB 4.1.2
Rooted 80GB Asus Memopad HD 7
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 02-14-2012, 07:16 PM
Artmuzz's Avatar
Artmuzz Artmuzz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 217
Default

Glad you took my advise and used the virtualizer setting on the Equalizer app.
__________________
DAP - Samsung Galaxy WiFi 4.0, Cowon D3, Sony X1060, Sony S639F, Sony A865, iPod 5G (Rockbox), Cowon J3, Sansa Clip+(Rockboxed), Sansa Fuze (Rockboxed), Apple iPod Touch 4G 64GB.

IEM - Sony EX310LP, Panasonic HJE900, JVC FXC80, Sennheiser CX300II
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 02-14-2012, 07:23 PM
mattg3 mattg3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 128
Default

What i find odd is when i use both equalizer app and poweramp app together and I go to task manager it only shows that poweramp is running but not the equalizer yet i know its running because of sound.i guess it blends into poweramp and doesnt show in task manager screen?I know when I run equalizer app alone it shows up in task manager but disappears when poweramp is used.
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 02-14-2012, 07:25 PM
Artmuzz's Avatar
Artmuzz Artmuzz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 217
Default

The equalizer icon should be shown on the top bar on the screen as "EQ". Thats how you will know it is always on.
__________________
DAP - Samsung Galaxy WiFi 4.0, Cowon D3, Sony X1060, Sony S639F, Sony A865, iPod 5G (Rockbox), Cowon J3, Sansa Clip+(Rockboxed), Sansa Fuze (Rockboxed), Apple iPod Touch 4G 64GB.

IEM - Sony EX310LP, Panasonic HJE900, JVC FXC80, Sennheiser CX300II
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 02-14-2012, 08:06 PM
mattg3 mattg3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 128
Default

thanks,I see it now
Just out of curiosity how much equalizer app virtualizer are you using and how much bass boost.Im using 20% bass boost and 25% virtualizer.Im keeping the equalizer flat on app but lowering treble brightness on poweramp equalizer.

Last edited by mattg3; 02-14-2012 at 08:18 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 02-14-2012, 08:17 PM
Lagoo56's Avatar
Lagoo56 Lagoo56 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SI,NY
Posts: 737
Default

I don't use the virtualizer much,it doesn't fit my flavor for some of my music,some I will use it with though. I mainly use Equalizer's EQ and Bass boost settings along with PowerAMP's.
__________________
DAPs I own: Rockboxed Sansa C250 2GB+64GB MicroSDXC
Tablets I own:Rooted 8GB Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7.0 running Sungsonic 2 HD JB 4.1.2
Rooted 80GB Asus Memopad HD 7
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:47 AM.