android
  #1  
Old 05-13-2009, 01:15 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default Cowon iAudio X5L CF Mod

[Posted to the front page]

I ordered an IDE to CF adapter after I read the Rockbox CF Mod Wiki page.

Installation was pretty straightforward, I only had to cut/saw the plastic bit off one side of the adapter's IDE connector to fit. I also had to shorten the master/slave jumper so it doesn't poke the PCB and battery, use a slimmer jumper bridge, and electrical tape on the backside (see red dots in the photos).

Speed with a 300x Lexar CF is blazing, bootup is almost instantly. Too bad there's no affordable 300x 32GB card available, so I have to see which 16 or 32Gb card is fast enough to be useful in the X5. I'm leaning towards a Kingston Elite Pro 133x (should be faster than 133x in reality), or a Hama HighSpeed Pro (should have similar speeds as the twice as expensive SanDisk Extreme III).

On another note, the X5 is now also quite a bit lighter than with the 1.8" HDD inside.











__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 05-14-2009, 02:24 AM
trikon000 trikon000 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Disassembly LABS
Posts: 259
Default

If I remember right there is also a double CF to 1.8 IDE PIN adaptors, so you can double up and have 2 32GB CFs. You would have to delete the partions on the CFs first.


RiDATA 16GB / 300x /
http://www.ritekusa.com/product_main..._id=Industrial

Transcend 16GB / 300x
http://www.transcendusa.com/Products...o=203&LangNo=0

A-DATA 16GB / 350x
http://www.adata-group.com/EN/produc...ctNo=ACFC350ZZ


Samsung only realease data on new 32GB flash memory rated fast enough for the 300x speeds only reacently, we will probably will not see any in use until Dec or early next year.
http://www.computerworld.com/action/...icleId=9132956
http://www.businesswire.com/portal/s...59&newsLang=en

Last edited by trikon000; 05-14-2009 at 02:55 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 05-14-2009, 06:18 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Trikon000, thanks for the card infos. Too bad the 16GB Transcend is extremely expensive here in Europe, and the fast Ridata and A-Data aren't even available. But I'll keep looking...

Seems the double CF adapters are a bit too big to fit into the X5L housing, due to the second battery. They might work fine with a "fattie" X5 60GB though.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 05-14-2009, 09:47 AM
no9's Avatar
no9 no9 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 1,098
Default

Looks good dfkt I'm interested in knowing how much faster it boots up and what the difference in battery life is after the mod. IIRC it was 8-10 hrs. I'm sure we can get around the "expensive in EU" problem
__________________
Cowon S9,Sansa Clip+,
Sansa Fuze,Westone UM2,Altec Lansing UHP336
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 05-14-2009, 10:43 AM
trikon000 trikon000 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Disassembly LABS
Posts: 259
Default

The ones I had, one of them I had to grind it down to the desired width and resolder the LED for better placement since it was to long sticking up.

I didn't realize the X5 was that thin with little clearence to put the CF adaptor in.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 05-14-2009, 10:45 AM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 15,985
Default

Sweetness dfkt, as I expected. And, as no9 stated, well try to find a "workaround" for the expensive cf card issue. I really want to hear those detailed specs me'self BTW.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 05-14-2009, 11:33 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Thanks for your support guys, I appreciate it. Yeah, it's kinda hard finding a really decent 32GB CF card for a good price, especially here across the pond.

Current candidates are:
Kingston Elite Pro 133x 32GB
Hama HighSpeed Pro 32GB 200X
Transcend 133x 32GB
Silicon Power 200x 32GB
SanDisk Extreme III 32GB 30MB/s (best of the bunch, but way too expensive)

The speed ratings don't really mean anything at all, unfortunately - independent speed test show quite a different picture. For example the 8GB 120x Transcend has faster write speeds than the 32GB 133x... grrr.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 05-14-2009, 12:02 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

This looks very promising, and affordable: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...ta%2032gb%20cf
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 05-14-2009, 02:11 PM
no9's Avatar
no9 no9 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 1,098
Default

I've bought Ridata DVD-Rs and they were good quality and better priced than most others. That doesn't mean their cards are any good but says that at least they are a legit company. I would buy from them again.
__________________
Cowon S9,Sansa Clip+,
Sansa Fuze,Westone UM2,Altec Lansing UHP336
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 05-15-2009, 07:51 AM
Rapide_23's Avatar
Rapide_23 Rapide_23 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 80
Default

I have that Ridata card in my H320, and the speed is quiet good.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 05-15-2009, 11:01 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Good to know, Rapide - think I'll get that one. Write speeds are sub-par on the Ridata, but you can't get anything better for the price anyway.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 05-15-2009, 11:52 AM
trikon000 trikon000 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Disassembly LABS
Posts: 259
Default

as far as speed goes you can get away with a 166x speed CF for mp3 player HDD replacements. As long as you do not expect to be playing videos you should be fine.
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 05-16-2009, 07:19 AM
Rapide_23's Avatar
Rapide_23 Rapide_23 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 80
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkt View Post
Good to know, Rapide - think I'll get that one. Write speeds are sub-par on the Ridata, but you can't get anything better for the price anyway.
Nah, the 233X writes reasonably quickly.
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 05-16-2009, 07:30 AM
fabarati fabarati is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 23
Default

How would the Kingston Elit pro 133x do? it's the only 32 GB that I can afford.
__________________
iAudio X5 with 32 GB CF + Fiio E5 + Head-Direct RE0
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 05-16-2009, 08:34 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

The Kingston 133x might be quite decent for the price, it should performs better than the speed rating suggests. Read speeds might be slower than the Ridata, but write speeds should be more or less the same, according to a few tests I've seen.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 05-18-2009, 06:41 PM
Jack4L's Avatar
Jack4L Jack4L is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,503
Default

btw, have you managed to get dualbooting to work on the CF card?
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 05-18-2009, 07:11 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

I've switched to Rockbox-only some time ago, I never tried it. But (despite the lack of interest in the topic, only a few replies), it seems as nobody booted the OF from CF yet:
http://iaudiophile.net/forums/showthread.php?t=20335
http://iaudiophile.net/forums/showthread.php?t=22795
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 05-21-2009, 03:52 PM
IronFly's Avatar
IronFly IronFly is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Italy
Posts: 13
Default

nice one dfkt, i just ordered the same CF adapter and initially i will put sandisk III 8gb.

afaik the OF has some instruction on the spin ON, spin OFF and headers functions (HDD instructions), so if it has no response from the CF it simply stuck.

or

maybe there's something hidden in the original HDD that X5 need to boot from it with the OF, like a MBR.
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 05-26-2009, 02:58 PM
trikon000 trikon000 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Disassembly LABS
Posts: 259
Default

As long as you have mode 4 or 6 support (that means it has a MBR, the boot sector) you will be able to use the CF. It gets harder when it says Emulated mode 6, it might have or might not have a MBR internally for use. The faster the CF, the more likely it has the mode 4 and 6 as part of the specs.
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 05-26-2009, 08:10 PM
dhp1161's Avatar
dhp1161 dhp1161 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 61
Default

can someone tell me what exactly this mod does
i have an X5 but its so old and the battery life so terrible, its been untouched for years
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:55 AM.