android
  #1  
Old 04-21-2012, 12:35 AM
TimTDP TimTDP is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 7
Default Best software for ripping music

I am new to ripping music, and mp3 players
I have just purchased my first mp3 player, a Cowon X7

What is the best software, and I don't mind having to pay, to rip music onto my Cowon?
Music management is also important. I read a lot about tagging issues!

Many thanks
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 04-21-2012, 04:05 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

This thread should be helpful
http://anythingbutipod.com/forum/showthread.php?t=19232
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 04-21-2012, 05:05 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

For ripping CDs properly, read this sticky thread: http://anythingbutipod.com/forum/showthread.php?t=52398
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 04-21-2012, 10:07 AM
McDougal's Avatar
McDougal McDougal is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,375
Default

For a CD ripper I recommend and use foobar2000. EAC is also another great choice.
__________________
iPod Touch 4G 32GB; Google Nexus 7 32GB
JVC HAS600B;Pioneer SE-M390;Audio-Technica ATH-P5

Retired Devices:
Sansa Fuze 8+16GB Rockboxed
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 04-21-2012, 05:17 PM
Ceramic Ceramic is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 98
Default

I use MediaMonkey to rip all my CDs to FLAC and then to convert the FLAC files to mp3s.

I tried EAC, and while a great program, I found it to be too exact. I had a small, light scratch on one CD and it went on a never-ending loop trying to read it. MediaMonkey was able to read and rip that part of the CD.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 04-21-2012, 05:31 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

If you don't want EAC to make exact rips, set it to burst mode. Then it will read over the errors, like any other ripper.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 04-21-2012, 05:50 PM
Ceramic Ceramic is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 98
Default

If I remember right, EAC is supposed to be able to read errors that other rippers can't. In my case, it seemed to do the opposite. Anyway, MediaMonkey does all I need.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 04-21-2012, 06:31 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is online now
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,571
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ceramic View Post
If I remember right, EAC is supposed to be able to read errors that other rippers can't. In my case, it seemed to do the opposite. Anyway, MediaMonkey does all I need.
It does, eventually. I had one old scratched CD where it doggedly kept at one track for four hours before finally getting it. That was a CD that wouldn't even play through the song.
__________________
Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB<-All RB'd Clip Sport 8GB, Cowon D2+20GB
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB,Touch 2G 8GB,2012 Nexus 7 32GB(4.4.2),Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB(4.2.2)
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 04-21-2012, 06:55 PM
McDougal's Avatar
McDougal McDougal is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,375
Default

Wow lol I've never had a CD ripping for 4 hours !

I wish I could use EAC, but foobar2000 gets the job done. Hell, I hardly ever rip CDs anymore. Amazon MP3s sound good enough .
__________________
iPod Touch 4G 32GB; Google Nexus 7 32GB
JVC HAS600B;Pioneer SE-M390;Audio-Technica ATH-P5

Retired Devices:
Sansa Fuze 8+16GB Rockboxed
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 04-21-2012, 08:17 PM
marc2003's Avatar
marc2003 marc2003 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: England
Posts: 297
Default

i'd only use something that can verify your rips against the accuraterip/cuetools database online.

http://www.accuraterip.com/
http://www.cuetools.net/wiki/CUETools_Database

a few programs which support this...

cueripper
EAC (burst mode is fine unless you have some problematic disks)
foobar2000
dbpoweramp

i use foobar2000 as it's what i use to manage/play my music.
__________________
Sansa Clip+ 8GB :: Sandisk 16GB Micro SDHC :: Rockbox :: FiiO E6 :: Sennheiser PX100 II
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 04-23-2012, 10:38 AM
Ceramic Ceramic is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 98
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marvin the Martian View Post
It does, eventually. I had one old scratched CD where it doggedly kept at one track for four hours before finally getting it. That was a CD that wouldn't even play through the song.
I gave up after it kept going for an hour. lol I compared the MediaMonkey ripped track (in FLAC) to the one on the CD and I couldn't hear a difference nor any skips. The error had to have been very small.

Quote:
Originally Posted by McDougal View Post
Wow lol I've never had a CD ripping for 4 hours !

I wish I could use EAC, but foobar2000 gets the job done. Hell, I hardly ever rip CDs anymore. Amazon MP3s sound good enough .
Same here except for some genres like classical and instrumental. I still want a FLAC copy of those types of music.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 04-23-2012, 02:22 PM
Satellite_6's Avatar
Satellite_6 Satellite_6 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: VA, USA
Posts: 871
Default

I will recommend fre:ac until I die, because it's easy to use and not EAC slow. . .

I use CDparanoia + jitter correction in the ripper settings to be safe, although it's probably overkill.
__________________
satelliteaudioblog.blogspot.com
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 04-23-2012, 03:20 PM
McDougal's Avatar
McDougal McDougal is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,375
Default

I forgot about fre:ac. I used it once, it's good software, but I ran into problems. The problem was related to the converter, not the ripper, so it's probably not an important discussion for this thread. Doesn't matter though, I use foobar2000 now anyways .
__________________
iPod Touch 4G 32GB; Google Nexus 7 32GB
JVC HAS600B;Pioneer SE-M390;Audio-Technica ATH-P5

Retired Devices:
Sansa Fuze 8+16GB Rockboxed
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 04-23-2012, 03:49 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is online now
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,571
Default

In my experience EAC is only slow with old scratched CD's. Ripping a new one is relatively quick, at least on my machine.
__________________
Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB<-All RB'd Clip Sport 8GB, Cowon D2+20GB
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB,Touch 2G 8GB,2012 Nexus 7 32GB(4.4.2),Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB(4.2.2)
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 04-23-2012, 03:57 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marvin the Martian View Post
In my experience EAC is only slow with old scratched CD's. Ripping a new one is relatively quick, at least on my machine.
Fast on my old clunker too but my cd's are in great shape.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:15 AM.