android
  #1  
Old 05-14-2012, 09:07 PM
vectorman vectorman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 10
Default GP 5 Update

Just received notification of OTA update G70xxKPL for my Galaxy Player 5.0 (international). Any info on what it does? Currently running G70xxKPH.

Last edited by vectorman; 05-15-2012 at 12:08 AM. Reason: version correction
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 05-14-2012, 10:22 PM
blcistheking's Avatar
blcistheking blcistheking is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 270
Default

Might be a update for the new version of touchwiz, like the one found on the 4.3
__________________
iPod Classic 160GB
Creative Zen Mozaic 16GB
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 05-14-2012, 11:11 PM
vectorman vectorman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 10
Default

Thanks for the suggestion, blc, but I'm new to the Galaxy Player, and though I know that Touchwiz is Samsung's interface, I'm not sure what it consists of, or how to tell if it's been upgraded.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 05-14-2012, 11:37 PM
1776 1776 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 203
Default

I have never had any type of firmware update notification on my SGP 5 (US). Do they come up through wifi/notifications?
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 05-14-2012, 11:58 PM
vectorman vectorman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1776 View Post
I have never had any type of firmware update notification on my SGP 5 (US). Do they come up through wifi/notifications?
Within the last 3 weeks, I've had 2 updates on my international version. The first was from 2.3.5 to 2.3.6; the second one (today) was from G70xxKPH to G70xxKPL (still 2.3.6). Both came through wifi notification.

Last edited by vectorman; 05-15-2012 at 12:07 AM. Reason: version correction
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 05-15-2012, 12:07 AM
blcistheking's Avatar
blcistheking blcistheking is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 270
Default

I forgot whether it says what version of touchwiz the device is running in the phone information in the settings menu but the newer version of touchwiz that time on the 4.2 has newer, better looking weather widgets (amongst a few ther things that I cant seem to remember this moment)

Doubt ill leave my custom Rom for the updated touchwiz so its not that bad if its not the new version.
__________________
iPod Classic 160GB
Creative Zen Mozaic 16GB
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 05-15-2012, 12:21 AM
vectorman vectorman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 10
Default

No Touchwiz info in settings, just Model Number (YP-G70), Firmware version (2.3.6), Kernal Version (2.6.35.7 se.infra@SEI-27 #2) and Build Number (GINGERBREAD.XXKPL)
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 05-15-2012, 12:27 AM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vectorman View Post
No Touchwiz info in settings, just Model Number (YP-G70), Firmware version (2.3.6), Kernal Version (2.6.35.7 se.infra@SEI-27 #2) and Build Number (GINGERBREAD.XXKPL)
Well, mine came with 2.3.5, and once I flashed it I had 2.3.6, along with a different ROM.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 05-15-2012, 12:49 AM
vectorman vectorman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 10
Default

My 2.3.6.firmware was an upgrade to the stock ROM, which I'm still running, but I've downloaded (though not yet flashed) the CWM version of Eryigit v.3.5. Looks really great, and I think I'd like to try it.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 05-15-2012, 05:26 PM
1776 1776 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 203
Default

And so far these have only been for the international version?
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 05-16-2012, 01:07 AM
vectorman vectorman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 10
Default

So far as I know, the OTA updates have been for the international version, but the Eryigit ROM mentioned above can be applied to both the int and the US versions. It can be flashed either with Odin or with Clockwork Mod.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:43 PM.