android
  #1  
Old 05-28-2012, 10:49 PM
Captain brick Captain brick is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 11
Default Low on memory

I have a task Manager Widget to show memory usage/availability and it always shows 'yellow' as in 'almost red, out of memory'

I don't have alot of apps like some of you guys talk about. All are on the SD card that can be moved (Apps2SD).

Is there a cache setting or something I can do to keep available memory low so when I'm web surfing or using Pandora, it won't lag?

Like everyone, I love this device. I just need to work out the kinks.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 05-28-2012, 10:58 PM
woer woer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 57
Default

What Android does is group programs into five categories. As more memory is needed, it kills off cached programs based on the category. In other words, it frees memory as it needs it. Trying to clean out the cache is just going to slow launching those programs later. It's not the reason Pandora is lagging for you.


That aside, you could try this http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=991276, the supercharger script. You can customize the size of memory given to each of those five categories I mentioned before, one being the amount of free memory it tries to keep available. It also has a feature, "Fast Engine Flush", to free up cached memory; it turns out the amount of free memory you see in task managers is not necessarily free but a particular type of cached memory, and what it does is make it truely free. You could try that before running Pandora to see if it makes a difference.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 05-29-2012, 03:12 PM
Captain brick Captain brick is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 11
Default

I've scanned it over, a wealth of information.

Thanks
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 05-30-2012, 05:10 PM
1776 1776 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 203
Default

Does your Apps2SD put your apps on the actual physical external SD card or is it putting them into the SGP's internal "SD Card" as Task Manager does?
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 05-30-2012, 05:16 PM
brosko brosko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 219
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1776 View Post
Does your Apps2SD put your apps on the actual physical external SD card or is it putting them into the SGP's internal "SD Card" as Task Manager does?

ya good question! it would be nice to be able to put apps on the actual external sd card
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 05-30-2012, 05:20 PM
steinburger1109's Avatar
steinburger1109 steinburger1109 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Naperville, Illinois
Posts: 2,456
Default

It goes on the internal SD card
__________________
- Justin
Glossary for Newbies Everybody
Babble. On.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 05-30-2012, 07:18 PM
brosko brosko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 219
Default

Can you put apps on the external sd card?
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 05-30-2012, 08:49 PM
steinburger1109's Avatar
steinburger1109 steinburger1109 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Naperville, Illinois
Posts: 2,456
Default

Never tried, am sure there must be a way, don't know of one.
__________________
- Justin
Glossary for Newbies Everybody
Babble. On.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 05-30-2012, 10:42 PM
1776 1776 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 203
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by steinburger1109 View Post
It goes on the internal SD card
Then there is no reason to use Apps2SD as the built in Task Manager has this function.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 05-31-2012, 06:38 AM
steinburger1109's Avatar
steinburger1109 steinburger1109 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Naperville, Illinois
Posts: 2,456
Default

I've never seen any reason to move them at all.
__________________
- Justin
Glossary for Newbies Everybody
Babble. On.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 05-31-2012, 05:11 PM
brosko brosko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 219
Default

what about to free up storage on the internal memory? tha would be a good reason to want to put the apps on an external sd card i think? or no?
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 06-01-2012, 12:13 PM
Blackdog's Avatar
Blackdog Blackdog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 318
Default

If you ROOT, you can get them to the external microsd. Otherwise internal.
(why the heck do they call it internal microSD anyway? Makes no logical sense)

Last edited by Blackdog; 06-01-2012 at 12:32 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 06-01-2012, 08:04 PM
steinburger1109's Avatar
steinburger1109 steinburger1109 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Naperville, Illinois
Posts: 2,456
Default

First of all, I can undrestand that other people might want to, I've never seen the issue. I never plan on having more than 5.5GB of apps...

Second, all of the things I've seen move to internal SD. What apps have you seen that do otherwise, Blackdog? Just wondering, not claiming you wrong, btw.

Third. They call it the SD card because the "USB Storage" or "Internal Memory" section is usually reserved for apps and apps only. The SD Card partition (which is an actual, physical SD Card inside the player, I believe) can be utilized for app storage or media of any variety.
__________________
- Justin
Glossary for Newbies Everybody
Babble. On.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:34 AM.