android
  #1  
Old 06-13-2012, 05:52 PM
mr_evertonia mr_evertonia is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 5
Default Galaxy Player 4 / ES File Explorer

Hi I wonder if anyone can help me. I have a Galaxy Player 4 that has worked great with ES File Explorer for about 4 months. All of a sudden last week it stopped working with my PC and I can't get it to connect any more. The strange thing is that it sees my wife's laptop on our network when I hit the find server button.

I'm using Windows 7. I have Network Discovery off, sharing on, streaming on and I've tried both passwords on and off. I get a message that WIFI is off / SMB servers is out of network / IP invalid / Blocked by firewall / SMB service is off when I try to connect by adding a server. I've even restet the player to factory settings.

Any help would be deeply appreciated, I've tried everything I've found anywhere on line to no avail.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 06-13-2012, 07:05 PM
Daniel644 Daniel644 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 475
Default

Have you switched to a new antivirus program on your computer, between when it worked and now? Some anti-virus's have firewall settings you have to adjust.
__________________
Galaxy S 4.0 Wifi (USA)
Running STeVEs custom Kernel
and Klin's Klassic 2.3.6 ROM for Galaxy Player 4.0 USA
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 06-13-2012, 08:20 PM
mr_evertonia mr_evertonia is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 5
Default

no, I use AVG and it had updated, but even if I disable it, still no connection. The problem began before the software update though.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 06-13-2012, 09:48 PM
alljokingaside alljokingaside is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 119
Default

mm, try turning network discovery on?
Is the folder in question (ie c:\Users\user_name) set to Share under Advanced Properties?

I'm at work, but can check out my Win 7 rig later.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 06-14-2012, 11:39 AM
Blackdog's Avatar
Blackdog Blackdog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 318
Default

After a lot of fooling around, I finally got ES to work on my 5.0.
Last night I noticed that the LAN had stopped working. I got the message error with a bulleted list of several reasons that it may not be functioning. None of which were applicable. Nothing whatsoever on my device or the PC or network had changed.

I did a scan. It found the network, labeled as the IP address, and was able to connect to that. So somehow the old named "profile" for my network that I had set up in ES initially became defunct.

go figure.
It's a weird little program with a whole lot of parameters.S omething obviously changed but I'd probably need a degree from MIT to figure out what.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 06-14-2012, 06:54 PM
mr_evertonia mr_evertonia is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 5
Default

I do know why that happened Black Dog. Your network settings are set to update (it's somewhere in your windows network config, can't remember where) so the IP of your pc will change every week or so.

My PC and Galaxy still can't see one another
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 06-14-2012, 07:36 PM
Daniel644 Daniel644 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 475
Default

have any of you tried setting a staic IP on your player or computers?
__________________
Galaxy S 4.0 Wifi (USA)
Running STeVEs custom Kernel
and Klin's Klassic 2.3.6 ROM for Galaxy Player 4.0 USA
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 06-15-2012, 06:11 AM
mr_evertonia mr_evertonia is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 5
Default

I've tried that too. By a process of elimination I've realised that the problem lies with my PC's networking. I've half-solved the problem, now it sees other computers, now I just have to get them to see it. I'm busy fiddling with homegroups, which shouldn't have any connection to this but appears to !
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 06-15-2012, 07:05 AM
barryem barryem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 207
Default

I have a fixed local IP on my desktop so I can access it using Splashtop. Before I did that it would change every time I rebooted. Now Splashtop is trouble free.

Barry
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 06-15-2012, 07:15 AM
Blackdog's Avatar
Blackdog Blackdog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 318
Default

It's a real PITA for me because my local provider supplies the router- and they control it remotely. I think I'm going to have to tell them to remove it and install my own router.

Even when I am connected, it appears that I can only read from my PC. I cant move or copy files from device to PC, or rename folders on the PC, etc.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 06-15-2012, 10:04 AM
barryem barryem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 207
Default

The router doesn't control the local IP, Windows does that. Go into the Control Panel, then Network and Internet, then Network Connections, right click on your local connection, select Properties, select IPV4. Then click the Properties button. This is where you can set the local IP. When you reboot it'll always use that IP. If you don't do this it seems to randomly pick a new IP with every reboot.

When I first did this I was suspicious that at some point there might be a conflict with other devices on my LAN but that was a year ago and it's been fine.

Barry
Reply With Quote

Reply

Tags
es file explorer, galaxy player, network

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:49 AM.