android
  #1  
Old 06-30-2012, 08:47 AM
AugustusG AugustusG is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 70
Default All I can do is turn the screen on/off (can't restart).

I was using the included web browser and all of a sudden it became unresponsive. I held the power button down and the option window did pop up, asking me what I wanted to do (Airline Mode, Restart, etc). I decided to press the Back button, just to see if that would resolve it. Now the only thing I can do is turn the screen on/off. I don't think it's even charging when it's plugged in. When the screen is on, so are the lights on each of the three capacitive buttons and none of these turn off unless I turn the screen off. How can I restart?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 06-30-2012, 08:48 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Hold the power button for 15-30 seconds.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 06-30-2012, 09:13 AM
AugustusG AugustusG is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 70
Default

That worked. Thanks! Is 15-30 seconds, the typical amount for shutting it down?
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 06-30-2012, 09:14 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

That 'hard reset' is basically the same for all Android devices, yes. It's not the normal way of shutting the device down, it's just for hiccups like the one your player had.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 06-30-2012, 11:12 AM
ForkliftFred ForkliftFred is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 40
Default

The same principle should work on a PC that's frozen too. I'd normally quote 5-10 seconds but I guess it could vary depending on the machine/device, essentially you just hold until it does the job

I had to do it this morning after using the web browser
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:21 AM.