android
  #1  
Old 11-19-2011, 01:58 PM
gas43 gas43 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2
Default App problem -- device is not compatible

I have the Samsung Galaxy Player 5.0 and am running into a number of applications that I can't find in the Market and show up as not compatible with device when I look them up in the web browser. Examples are Life360, Walgreens, USPS. I talked to a developer of an app for a local hospital that did the same thing, and he saw no reason why there would be compatibility issues. Does anyone understand why this happens? Thanks.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 11-19-2011, 03:35 PM
zacp2 zacp2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 239
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gas43 View Post
I have the Samsung Galaxy Player 5.0 and am running into a number of applications that I can't find in the Market and show up as not compatible with device when I look them up in the web browser. Examples are Life360, Walgreens, USPS. I talked to a developer of an app for a local hospital that did the same thing, and he saw no reason why there would be compatibility issues. Does anyone understand why this happens? Thanks.
There's fonctionality on the galaxy player there don't have on the other android devices. This is generaly because they lack the phone fonctions like calls and text messaging. Like ebuddy XMS isn't compatible with galaxy player because it need to send SMS. Maybe the application you need have those restrictions so it isn't compatible with the galaxy player.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 11-20-2011, 04:45 PM
Us35 Us35 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 14
Default

This happened to me but I decided to installing outside the market.
The Go Launcher Ex, for example, works perfectly. I ignored the supposed incompatibility and have not had even a bug. 100% compatible.

I recommend seeking the "incompatible" out of the market to prove.

(By Google Translate)
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 11-23-2011, 02:51 PM
gas43 gas43 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks. I've tried to install outside of the market, but none of the wesites will let me do it.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 11-23-2011, 06:51 PM
K O B O's Avatar
K O B O K O B O is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 53
Default

could this help??

http://www.androidcentral.com/sidelo...wonder-machine



Have a Magical Day
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 11-27-2011, 03:47 AM
djfourmoney djfourmoney is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 9
Default

I've heard some apps will install but hang. One being the Sirius App, however I found a work-around for that by installing it on a phone first and then moving one of the files over to the player. It works on the Archos 43, no reason why it won't work for the Galaxy Player.

This is not really super important since AT&T put its limitation on non-smartphone about using more than 200MB of data (Oct 1st Data Caps).

Looks like I'll be investing in a MiFi unit when the time comes.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 12-25-2012, 01:23 PM
goober234 goober234 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1
Default

I had this problem on my Samsung Player 5.0. The market app would only bring up the Google Play terms of service. If I browsed to the Market via the browser it would give me and error along the vein of "you have not logged in via the market app on your device" . I tried everything including reseting the device to factory defaults assuming it was an authentication issue. But it turns out that the solution is to be quick on your fingers. The marketplace app puts up accept and decline buttons that rapidly disappear when the browser brings up the terms of service . you must be ready for when those button flash on the screen. If you miss it the first ( or any subsequent times) you can got to manage apps and clear the cache for the market app then go back to the market app and quickly click the accept button.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 12-25-2012, 09:57 PM
Daniel644 Daniel644 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 475
Default

when apps show up as incompatible, see if there is a way you can legally download them from the DEVELOPER and then copy it to your player from your computer and install it, this is called sideloading. aside from that you could look into the custom ROMs available for your player and see if any have a deviceID hack incorporated, on the 4.0 that got us around alot of the incompatibility messages.
__________________
Galaxy S 4.0 Wifi (USA)
Running STeVEs custom Kernel
and Klin's Klassic 2.3.6 ROM for Galaxy Player 4.0 USA
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 12-28-2012, 08:43 PM
alljokingaside alljokingaside is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 119
Default

if you're not in the US, it'll prevent you from downloading certain apps. to get around that, get "marketenabler"

if it isn't compatible with the SGP (but really is) AND ***if you're rooted, you can simply change this entry in "build.prop" (located in your /system folder): "
"ro.product.model=YP-G70" to "ro.product.model=GT-I9000"
everything else can/should be left alone.

if your file explorer doesn't allow the option to open and edit, just copy elsewhere, rename as a .txt file, edit, then copy back.

backup the original file by "bak"ing it (ie rename to "build.prop.bak") in case you want to easily restore later (which you might want to do given that I remember seeing an incompatibility with a specific app/service). This tells your OS that that file ("xxx.xxx.bak") is a backup file. Leave it in the same folder and rename when you want to use it (overriding your then-current build.prop)

Note: If you do this, don't open Kakao until you've restored the original file. Otherwise, it'll "think" that you've changed devices and will make you do that annoying initialization/registration thing all over again.

Note: The trick I use to keep it from getting tedious is via "Root Explorer". Copy the original "build.prop" file elsewhere and modify. Copy and override the original "build.prop" The app will automatically ask if you want to save the file you're overriding as a backup. (ie "build.prop.bak.bak") Say yes. Voila; get rid of the .bak extensions when you want to use.

Last edited by alljokingaside; 12-28-2012 at 09:08 PM.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:01 AM.