android
Go Back   abi>>forums > General Audio > Headphones

Old 12-28-2012, 07:00 PM

Default Building a headset, combining speakers with a mic

Hey folks, being a student means not really having a lot of money, and since I live in a fairly expensive country, so are headphones, so I've decided to build my own, from a set of fairly good broken ones a friend of mine decided to toss.

As it seems, that apart from the frame being broken, the only problem is a few loose connections in the wire and the jackstik, the speakers seem to be fine though.

My plan is to make a hardened leather frame (I have a few years of experience working in leather from other projects), with some comfy, again leather ear-thingy's (my first language isn't English) that cover the ears, hopefully removing a lot of noise from the surroundings, integrate the speakers in the ear-thingy's, and run the wires out of one side as is normal.

Thing is, someone just handed me a microphone from a different headset, that was lost a long time ago, the mike is in working order, now I'm thinking however, should I get a 4 split 3.5 jack, have 2 jacks, or is it possible perhaps to integrate it all in a usb-plug somehow?

Apart from leather I have a bit of experience working with electronics (for a 2 day school project a while back I made a movement sensor controller for a custom made computer game, with an arduino). I haven't worked with audio before however, nor with sending data through usb.

(P.S. I only use leather from cows that were slaughtered for the meat, so the leather is a by-product, and not the reason for the slaughtering, in case anyone was wondering ).

Last edited by TheLogan; 12-28-2012 at 07:12 PM.

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

Old 12-28-2012, 08:30 PM