android
Old 12-30-2012, 09:32 AM

Default E464 dock?

Hi all,

anyone got info on a dock i can use w/ the E464? Sony helpdesk weren't much help, they referred me to something they don't stock and even google had a hard time finding the reference code, only coming up w/ about 3 foreign pages.
i stumbled across the player on Toys R Us and they said the SRS NWG50 was an "optional extra" ~ asked sony about this and they just blanked me :-/

does anyone have info on this? i was thinking any dock w/ teh WM port could be used but i'm a walkman noob so i'm probably wrong!

thanks in advance!

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

Old 12-30-2012, 09:59 AM
Administrator

Welcome to ABi

There's a character missing from the model you list. The correct model # is SRS NWGU50. http://store.sony.com/webapp/wcs/sto...52921665963652

I don't think you can fully blame the help desk. The people there aren't familiar with the entire Sony line. They're just working off the screens they see when you give them a model number. If you don't supply the correct number they may or may not have a plain language search they can do to help you find an item.

I can't recall seeing any other docks that have the WM-Port connector. Pretty much if a product isn't an iPod nobody makes a dock for it. There's just no money to be made in anything else due to lack of sales volume. A maker might sell some, just not a sufficient quantity to make the initial investment worthwhile.

Old 12-30-2012, 11:31 AM
Ultra Senior Member

Don't know what country you live in. The product appears to be over 3 years old (saw posts on ABi from Aug 2009). Most hits show as Out of Stock (even for refurbished units).

Looks like it's available in the UK
http://www.sony.co.uk/product/awa-wa...nwgu50/reviews

You'll just have to keep checking places like eBay and Amazon (did you check there yet, I didn't).

UPDATE: If you live in Canada, check The Source for a combo speaker dock AND E464.