android
  #1  
Old 02-18-2013, 10:40 AM
JK98 JK98 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,982
Default I tried to Rockbox my Clip Zip

I just tried to Rockbox my Clipzip automatically using the Rockbox utility. It says it went through the motions and installed it, but then after I safely remove hardware and disconnect the player, nothing happens. There isn't a .Rockbox folder on the player. i have no idea what I am doing wrong. The player is in msc mode. First I tried using the .20 firmware, then I tried using the .18 firmware.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 02-18-2013, 12:23 PM
JK98 JK98 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,982
Default

I found out what i was doing wrong. I forgot to select the drive letter for the player.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 02-18-2013, 12:43 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Have you looked through the themes yet?
This one is reminiscent of the Clip+....and can easily be installed with the Utility along with the font pack that you'll need.
http://themes.rockbox.org/index.php?...t=sansaclipzip
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 02-18-2013, 02:13 PM
Tapeworm's Avatar
Tapeworm Tapeworm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: California, the Granola State
Posts: 481
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JK98 View Post
I just tried to Rockbox my Clipzip
I can't believe it!
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 02-18-2013, 02:41 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tapeworm View Post
I can't believe it!
I was shocked too.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 02-18-2013, 07:51 PM
JK98 JK98 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,982
Default

I bought a Clipzip recently and I couldn't stand the screen, not having the time elapsed, and not being able to see the battery icon when the screen is dim. The Clipzip is better for Rockbox than the Clip+ since the screen is larger. I am not ready to Rockbox my Clip+ players yet. The theme I am using now is the runner 96x96 one. White on black background is very readable even at very low brightness levels. It is supposed to be the most energy efficient theme. I still can't get the timestretch to work though.

Rockbox is very confusing. It is hard to remember which setting is in which menu and how to get there.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 02-19-2013, 02:01 PM
Mikerman Mikerman is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,424
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JK98 View Post
Rockbox is very confusing. It is hard to remember which setting is in which menu and how to get there.
I think that can be true of any new operating system. Over time, one gets accustomed to it.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 02-19-2013, 06:58 PM
JK98 JK98 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,982
Default

Rockbox has more than 10x as many settings as the original firmware though. A big difference.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 02-20-2013, 03:57 PM
Tapeworm's Avatar
Tapeworm Tapeworm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: California, the Granola State
Posts: 481
Default

Substitute the word 'Box" for 'Climbing':



Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 02-20-2013, 05:52 PM
Mikerman Mikerman is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,424
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JK98 View Post
Rockbox has more than 10x as many settings as the original firmware though. A big difference.
Yep, that's what gives it its many wonderful options and capabilities.

In my experience, though, one can simply skim through the manual to get the gist, and then ignore the majority of the options and settings, until and if needed and desired. At least, that's what I did originally, and then going back to the manual to discover new options and possibilities.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 07-06-2013, 12:16 AM
Deity Deity is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 57
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JK98 View Post
I found out what i was doing wrong. I forgot to select the drive letter for the player.
Today I just got my clip zip and the exact same thing happened to me while installing RockBox.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 07-07-2013, 06:13 PM
JK98 JK98 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,982
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deity View Post
Today I just got my clip zip and the exact same thing happened to me while installing RockBox.

Did my post help you? I would think that it would be easy to design the software to realize what drive letter the player is assigned to, although if more than one player is connected it might get confused. It is a simple matter of choosing the drive letter the player is connected to once you realize that you need to set this. It isn't so clear that you need to set this though. I guess most people aren't initially familiar with the term mountpoint. I guess if it said instead enter drive letter assigned to player, I would have initially responded to it.

Last edited by JK98; 07-07-2013 at 07:23 PM.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:36 AM.