android
Go Back   abi>>forums > Software & Media > Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-10-2013, 11:18 PM
3602's Avatar
3602 3602 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 390
Default Split audio streams on Windows 7 - possible?

Hello all,

I have recently acquired a desktop system for listening to CD's. The problem is most of my material are MP3's stored on my PC, played back through Winamp.

What I would like to do is to acquire an entry-level but decent enough plug-and-play USB-DAC and feed its analog outputs into my speaker amplifier, thus playing my MP3 library through the desktop system. Yeah, no FLAC. The speakers are $250/pair and the amp is from 1978.

Now generally this wouldn't be a problem, but I Skype quite a lot. And I can't really route Skype sounds through the speakers, or else the chat members will hear echo and DotA 2 laughs. That microphone runs by USB, by the way, and it's a plug-and-play.

So what I have in mind is to have only Winamp playing through the USB-DAC and everything else (Skype, DotA, YouTube, etc.) through headphones plugged into the headphone output on the case.

I am aware that it is possible to choose, within Skype, which speaker output is used. But (correct me if I'm wrong please) Windows 7 can only have one audio output. So if I switch Windows 7's default audio output to the USB-DAC, Skype will not even see the computer's built-in headphone output. And even if Skype really can route calls to my headphones, there is still the issue of YouTube videos and system sounds.

All this because I don't feel like plugging and unplugging cables all the time. I can switch inputs on the amp but the USB-DAC will always be wired.

So... is there a way? I have built-in Realtek HD Audio with an MSi control interface, but I am rather certain that the USB-DAC will act as an outboard sound card and will bypass all this Realtek stuff.

I know that this question straddles the line between Audio software and Home audio, but there really is a bit more software involved.

Thank you all very much.
__________________
Portable: Sansa Clip+ RockBox'd > Sony MDR-NC500D
Home: Luxman D-90 > Luxman L-3 > psb Alpha B1
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 03-10-2013, 11:28 PM
3602's Avatar
3602 3602 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 390
Default

On second thought, scratch all that. I need to increase the PC's volume to the maximum anyway. There's always some human intervention involved... I'll just swap things around I guess.

Thanks for looking though.
__________________
Portable: Sansa Clip+ RockBox'd > Sony MDR-NC500D
Home: Luxman D-90 > Luxman L-3 > psb Alpha B1
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:25 AM.