android
  #1  
Old 07-10-2006, 12:02 AM
Night Surfer's Avatar
Night Surfer Night Surfer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Salem, Or
Posts: 172
Default Zen Vision:M Tips & Tricks

Some starter Tips...

1. Go to the main menu: press and hold down the "back" button to go straight to the main menu.

2. Play ALL Songs from a particular artist: go to ARTIST, scroll down to the artist you want, press the "PLAY" button. The same goes for GENRES and ALBUMS.

3. Turn screen off while playing music: switch the on/off button to "HOLD".

4. Shortcut to the SHORTCUT list: hold down the shortcut button for a few seconds.

5. RECORD from the FM quickly: press and hold the play button to start recording.

Add yours!
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 07-12-2006, 01:30 PM
devstorm devstorm is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 51
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Night Surfer
Some starter Tips...

3. Turn screen off while playing music: switch the on/off button to "HOLD".
This greatly prolongs your battery charge doing this.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 07-22-2006, 10:40 AM
eDad eDad is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1
Default Get to the "Alphabet" Menu

I couldn't find this in the manual - maybe I just missed it but....

To get to the Alphabet Menu (the "ABCDEF" you see on the right when scrolling through lists):
  • Press "Shortcut" and then "Right"
  • Press "left" and then "right"

Now your scrolling is much faster through large lists.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 07-29-2006, 06:38 AM
flamingredgirl flamingredgirl is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2
Default

That doesn't work for me. I have the shortcut button set for random play all so it just does that.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 07-29-2006, 09:31 AM
flamingredgirl flamingredgirl is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2
Default

I found out how to do it, just don't press the shortcut button. When you are in a list of songs or artists or whatever, just press right.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 07-29-2006, 12:20 PM
ZenChick's Avatar
ZenChick ZenChick is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Right... Behind... You...
Posts: 7,427
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flamingredgirl
I found out how to do it, just don't press the shortcut button. When you are in a list of songs or artists or whatever, just press right.
Yep yep! It works in all the lists! Just press the "right" button to bring it up, scroll through it, and when you find the letter you want, either tap the touchpad or press the "left" button. It's pretty neat!

Oh... Welcome to the forums, Flamingredgirl!
__________________
ZenChick - The one them iPod-owners warned you about!
Creative Zen Vision:M 30GB * Creative MuVo N200 1GB * Philips GoGear Vibe 4GB
Resident Linux Geekette ** Got IRC? Look me up on irc.freenode.net #AnythingButiPod
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 08-02-2006, 12:50 AM
neonez's Avatar
neonez neonez is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 34
Default

1. always bookmark your place if you are going to hook it up to your pc as it starts at the beginning when unplugged
2. tap at the very bottom or the very top of the touch pad to go one step at a time
3. hold your finger at the bottom or top of the touch pad to scroll very quickly
__________________
-)\(eonez-

Nintendo DS Lite + Creative Zen Vision:M Microsoft Zune = Pure Bliss
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 08-02-2006, 02:45 AM
atrax atrax is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 663
Default

Whatever menu you are in: Hold down the 'return' button and it will bring you directly back to the main menu...
__________________
iPod Classic
MacBook 13"
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 08-06-2006, 10:57 PM
Procrastinator Procrastinator is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 10
Default

Click the 'right' button/arrow to skip to the next page when viewing photos and vice versa.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 08-18-2006, 03:52 PM
anton anton is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 13
Default

Hi-
I don't get the switch on/off button to "hold" thing. How exactly is this done, please?
anton
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 08-18-2006, 03:56 PM
Dedpoet Dedpoet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Near Detroit, MI
Posts: 138
Default

Holding the power switch to the left turns the Zen on or off. If you move it to the right while the player is on, it will lock the buttons so that pushing them doesn't do anything. It will also make the screen turn off after a few seconds (if you're listening to audio, not if you're watching video), which greatly improves battery life. Move the switch back to the middle to use the buttons.
__________________
Creative Zen Vision: M 30GB
PA2V2 Amplifier
Sennheiser PX-100
Grado SR-60
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 08-20-2006, 01:58 AM
atrax atrax is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 663
Default

Thats....just....too..obvious, how did you know to do that?!
__________________
iPod Classic
MacBook 13"
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 08-20-2006, 07:59 AM
Dedpoet Dedpoet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Near Detroit, MI
Posts: 138
Default

I was answering anton's question.
__________________
Creative Zen Vision: M 30GB
PA2V2 Amplifier
Sennheiser PX-100
Grado SR-60
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 08-31-2006, 12:50 AM
Simon Simon is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Parksville, BC, Canada
Posts: 1,050
Default

does anyone know if its possible with a ZVM to have it charging via USB and be able to interact with it ie. play music, watch movies?
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 08-31-2006, 04:01 AM
atrax atrax is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 663
Default

Shut down any programs that are interacting with your player. Or just simply watch them on the computer.
__________________
iPod Classic
MacBook 13"
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 09-08-2006, 02:48 PM
Chahk's Avatar
Chahk Chahk is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 56
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by simon
does anyone know if its possible with a ZVM to have it charging via USB and be able to interact with it ie. play music, watch movies?
If you refer to the "Docked" icon that shows up as soon as you connect your ZVM to the PC, it's the fault of Creative Media Source Organizer. The "Detector" is turned on by default, but can be switched off to prevent your PC from grabbing the ZVM's attention right away.

Launch Creative Media Source Organizer, on the "Tools" menu select the "Settings" option, then to to the "Detector" tab and uncheck the "Enable Detector" setting. Click OK and exit the Media Source Organizer. Now your ZVM can be attached to the PC without the "Docked" icon coming up right away. The player is still being recharged (as seen by the flashing power icon) but now you can use it as you normally do.

The ZVM will automatically dock itself whenever any application (e.g. Creative Media Explorer, MediaMonkey, Windows Media Player, etc.) tries to access it. When these apps disconnect from the ZVM, the "Docked"
icon will go away, you will see a brief "Updating your player" dialog box on your PC, and the player will go back to its normal state.
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 09-08-2006, 04:45 PM
ZenChick's Avatar
ZenChick ZenChick is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Right... Behind... You...
Posts: 7,427
Default

Now that is an outstanding tip! Thanks!

To add to this: If the above steps don't work, or if you launch a program that recognizes your player (such as MediaMonkey, MMJB, WMP, or Winamp) while it's plugged in, then you'll have to disconnect your player, shut down the programs, then plug your player back in.

If it still doesn't work, then you'll have to go into your Task Manager (CTRL ALT DEL) and, under the "Processes" tab, look for and shut down any instances of any media players still running, and CTDetect.exe if you find it.
__________________
ZenChick - The one them iPod-owners warned you about!
Creative Zen Vision:M 30GB * Creative MuVo N200 1GB * Philips GoGear Vibe 4GB
Resident Linux Geekette ** Got IRC? Look me up on irc.freenode.net #AnythingButiPod
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 09-08-2006, 05:35 PM
Simon Simon is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Parksville, BC, Canada
Posts: 1,050
Default

sounds great, but i dont have Creative Media Source installed, is there another way for me to do it using Media Explorer?
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 09-30-2006, 02:12 AM
KopyKat KopyKat is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Not sure if this has been said before (was only skim reading) but I found that if you turn down the brightness in settings you battery lasts alot longer :nod:


Kopykat
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 10-18-2006, 03:30 PM
Drewski Drewski is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Levittown, PA.
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by simon
sounds great, but i dont have Creative Media Source installed, is there another way for me to do it using Media Explorer?
I second that. Also is there a "debug menu" on the player, I'm mainly looking for a way to eventually defragment since I've been adding/deleting/moving a lot of stuff.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:13 PM.