android
  #1  
Old 02-10-2007, 01:00 PM
flex4life flex4life is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 60
Default what cable is needed is transfer pics from camera to x5?

What cable is needed is transfer pics from camera to x5?

Is there a name for this cable? Thanks!
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 02-10-2007, 02:11 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

It's a simple, normal USB cable... you probably got one with your camera.

The X5 got a special "USB Host cable", where you connect any standard USB cable:
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 02-10-2007, 02:36 PM
Andreas's Avatar
Andreas Andreas is offline
Visiting troll from Pocketables
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 2,285
Default

What's the subpack thing?

On topic: Is the host cable included? Looks like a normal mini usb to female usb a.... Nice feature, usb host, seen some HDD enclosures with that too, didn't know this player had it.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 02-10-2007, 04:05 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Yes, the host cable is included, it's a female USB A <-> male mini USB, as you said. You can also connect any card reader or FAT32 hard disk to it. Or another X5, for sharing files... That's the way Cowon rolls, heh.

The subpack is the slightly annoying thing about the X5... it sports the AC-in, USB, line-in and line-out connectors. On the X5 itself is only a Gomadic connector. It was a design decision to use the subpack, to keep the bulk of the X5 lower... but I guess it's the same with the ZV:M and the iPod - although both don't have a line-in!
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 02-10-2007, 06:36 PM
Andreas's Avatar
Andreas Andreas is offline
Visiting troll from Pocketables
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 2,285
Default

Hmm what's the power output of the x5 in host mode, in ma? External 2.5" hdd's often run off 5v 500mA, memory card readers and flash pendrives run off a lower mA... If it could deliver 500mA, which i doubt (btw is it usb2.0?) then you could get a really big upgrade usig an external hdd with it
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 02-10-2007, 06:44 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Nah, you can't listen to audio from an external HDD - USB-Host only lets you transfer files to the X5. I don't think it'll power HDDs that don't have a dedicated AC adaptor.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 02-11-2007, 12:26 AM
flex4life flex4life is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 60
Default

Thanks, that is a cool photo, I'm not sure if I got all those parts.

Anyways, my camera connects to my comp via the USB cable (small plugin side to camera & larger pluging side). My camera doesn't have a large plugin side and neither does X5, so how do they connect?

I hope I am making sense...

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkt View Post
It's a simple, normal USB cable... you probably got one with your camera.

The X5 got a special "USB Host cable", where you connect any standard USB cable:
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 02-11-2007, 02:21 AM
Tobey's Avatar
Tobey Tobey is offline
Insignia Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,500
Default

He just told you how... Your camera cable plugs into the adapter that came with your X5, and the adapter plugs into the port on the X5.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 02-11-2007, 05:45 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Yes, you need the "USB Host Cable", as shown on the picture... you really should have gotten one with your X5.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 02-13-2007, 12:06 PM
flex4life flex4life is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 60
Default

Thanks, I foudn that lil bugger of a cable still hidden in the box! Sorry for the confusion
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:26 AM.